Lifetime Achievement Award

Established in 1999 in order to recognize the distinguished career of Don Gasaway. Don was presented with this award in 200 at the Denver NHCA conference. Intended to recognize a lifetime of extraordinary accomplishments in the hearing loss prevention profession as well as service to NHCA.

Nominated by Executive Council. Award winner recognized at annual conference.

Lifetime Achievement Award & Past Recipients

Leadership and Service

In 1990, the Outstanding Leadership and Service to NHCA Award was renamed the Michael Beall Threadgill Award.

Award for Outstanding Leadership and Service in NHCA & Past Recipients

Outstanding Hearing Conservationist Award

Established to recognize outstanding contributions to or achievement within the field of hearing conservation. First presented to Aram Glorig and is conferred annually if a suitable candidate is selected by the Nominations Committee.

Nominated by Executive Council.

Outstanding Hearing Conservationist Award & Past Recipients

Michael Beall Threadgill Award

This award, first presented in 1986 to Alan Feldman, is conferred annually if a suitable candidate is recommended by the Nominations Task Force and approved by the Executive Council.

Nominated by Executive Council.

Michael Beall Threadgill Award & Past Recipients

Safe-In-Sound Award

In 2007, The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) has partnered with the National Hearing Conservation Association (NHCA) to create an award for Excellence in Hearing Loss Prevention. This award is called the Safe-In-Sound Award. The objectives of this award are to recognize organizations that document measurable achievements in hearing loss prevention programs, and to obtain information on their real world successes.

Nomination Committee reviews all submissions.

Safe-In-Sound Award & Past Recipients

Conference Awards

Outstanding Lecture Award

Bestowed annually for the best presentation at the annual conference of NHCA. The purpose is to provide speakers to deliver high-quality, interesting, informative and polished lectures. 

Nominated based on conference evaluation forms collected by conference attendees.

NHCA Outstanding Lecture Award Past Recipients

Outstanding Poster Award

Established in 1997, this award is given for the best poster presentation at the annual conference of NHCA. The purpose of the award is to provide additional incentive to poster presenters to deliver high-quality, interesting, informative and polished posters.

Nominated based on conference evaluation forms collected from conference attendees.

NHCA Outstanding Poster Award & Past Recipients

Media Award

Established to recognize the efforts of writers and/or producers of news features that serve to heighten public awareness of the hazards of noise.

Nominated by the NHCA membership. 

Media Award & Past Recipients

Scholarship Foundation Awards

Student Conference Award

The Student Conference Award (SCA) includes paid registration to two workshops and the annual conference, plus lunches, social activities, and partial reimbursement of travel expenses. This one-time Award is available to students who are actively pursuing a graduate degree in a discipline related to hearing conservation and who are enrolled at least half-time in an accredited university program. Previous recipients of the NHCA Student Travel Award include masters and doctoral-level students in audiology, human factors engineering, industrial hygiene, and public health, from a variety of universities across the country.

Student Conference Awards & Past Recipients

Student Research Award

The NHCA Scholarship Foundation will award at least two $5,000 scholarships to undergraduate or graduate students focusing on applied/practical studies in hearing loss prevention/hearing conservation at regionally accredited U.S. institutions. These awards for the academic year 2013-2014 are designed to assist with student research studies such as special projects, theses or dissertations relating to hearing loss prevention/hearing conservation.

Student Research Awards & Past Recipients