Site & Directory Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Industry News

CAOHC/NHCA Webinar #2: "Assessing Hearing Protector Attenuation on Individual Ears"

CAOHC/NHCA Webinar #3: "Audiometric Monitoring: Infection Control and Otoscopy”

CAOHC/NHCA Webinar #4: “A Shot of Prevention: Firearms and Hearing Protection”

CAOHC/NHCA Webinar #5: “Economics of Hearing Conservation Program and Noise Control”

CAOHC/NHCA Webinar #6: “Advocating to Reduce the Ill-Effects of Noise Exposure”

Student Conference Awards
Share |

Student Conference Awards

The Scholarship Foundation of the National Hearing Conservation Association (NHCA) is pleased to announce the availability of a limited number of student conference awards for the 38th Annual NHCA Conference, to be held March, 13-15, 2014, in Las Vegas, NV. In addition to outstanding technical presentations on hearing loss prevention, there will be numerous opportunities to attend in-depth workshops, poster sessions, and discussion groups. We have a great program in store, as well as a fantastic Friday night get-together.

The Student Conference Award (SCA) includes paid registration to two workshops (March 13), the annual conference (March 14 & 15), lunches, social activities, and a stipend for travel expenses. This one-time Award is available to students who are actively pursuing agraduate degree in a discipline related to hearing conservation and who are enrolled at least half-time in an accredited university program. Previous recipients of the NHCA Student Conference Award include masters and doctoral-level students in audiology, human factors engineering, industrial hygiene, and public health, from a variety of universities across the country. Interested students may contact the NHCA office (303.224.9022) or visit the NHCA website for more information about the award and to download the 1-page application. Completed application must be received in the NHCA office no later than November 4, 2013. Students will be notified of the results by January 3, 2014. Students who have previously received an SCA are not eligible.

Student Conference Award Application 2014 - Printable PDF

Student Conference Award Application 2014 - Electronic Application

Deadline to submit applications: November 4, 2013

Past Recipients (View Photo Album):

2012 Rachael BaiducNorthwestern University, Ph.D. candidate
Jennifer EggebrechtUniversity of Northern Colorado, Au.D. candidate
Stephanie PhelpsUniversity of California, San Francisco, Ph.D. candidate
2011Christoffer BerntsenUniversity of Louisville, 3rd year/Au.D. Program
Dana GladdUniversity of Wisconsin, 4th year/Au.D. Program
Sarah KnaufSUNY at Buffalo, 3rd year/Au.D. Program
Roxanne KohilakisWU - School of Medicine, 2nd year/Au.D. Program
Sara Neumann Illinois State University, 2nd year/Au.D. Program
2010Alexander ClaussenSouthern Illinois University School of Medicine, 2nd year/MD Program
Hannah KepplerGhent University, Belgium, 4th year/PhD Program
James RubasUniversity of Connecticut, 3rd year/AuD Program
Amanda UcciUniversity of Connecticut, 3rd year/AuD Program
Emily WakefieldUniversity of Northern Colorado, 4th year/AuD Program
2009Melissa AlexanderRush University, 2nd year AuD program
McLorn CarpenterRush University, 2nd year AuD program
Amanda KnappWestern Michigan University, 3rd year AuD program
Tony PhilipSalus University, 4th year AuD program
Jennifer ThomasArizona Health Sciences, 3rd year AuD program
2008Marla BruceUniversity of Northern Texas, 2nd year AuD program
Scott LanfordUniversity of Northern Texas, 2nd year AuD program
Kevin LiebeWestern Michigan University, 3rd year AuD program
Rick NeitzelUniversity of Washington, 3rd year PhD program
Gayla PolingOhio State University, 2nd year PhD program in audiology
2007Top Awards
Elizabeth BaumWashington University - St. Louis/CID, AuD program
Stephanie GriffinUniversity of Washington, masters program in Industrial Hygiene
Cory PortnuffUniversity of Colorado, AuD/PhD - Speech, Language, Hearing Program
Runners Up
Khaled AlaliVirginia Tech, PhD - Human Factors Engineering & Ergonomics program
Benson DavisUniversity of Cincinnati, AuD program
Darrin WorthingtonNorthwestern University, AuD program
2006Lovejoy MuchenjeVirginia Tech, masters program in industrial engineering (human factors)
Jeremy SlagelyWest Virginia University, PhD program in occupational safety & health
Andrea WagnerCentral Michigan University, AuD program
2005Elizabeth BealCentral Michigan University, 3rd year AuD program (winner)
Dana LibmanUniversity of South Florida, 3rd year AuD program
Rachel SandersUniversity of Northern Colorado, 2nd year AuD program
2004Antony JosephMichigan State University, PhD program in audiology
Jeff LancasterVirginia Tech, PhD program in industrial engineering (human factors)
2003Kimberly JordanUniversity of Texas-Dallas, AuD program
Melissa NormanUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham, doctor of public health (DPH) program
Jonathan ThomasColorado State University - Fort Collins, PhD program in industrial hygiene
Elizabeth ThompsonIndiana University - Bloomington; masters program in audiology


National Hearing Conservation Association
12011 Tejon Street, Suite 700
Westminster, CO 80234
Phone: 303-224-9022
Fax: 303-458-0002